Mert’s Blueberry Almond Cookies

imageimageYesterday I tried to make my own recipe for the first time. I took a basic almond cookie recipe and added chopped frozen blueberries and altered a bunch of things and even lowered the fat content. They ended up turning out pretty good, so I am posting these cookies, as my first original recipe made by Mert (me).
Here you go!:) I hope you love it:)

Makes around 30 cookies
Ingredients:
3/4 cup shortening
1/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup frozen, chopped blueberries (of course if you have fresh blueberries that you want to use, you can throw them in the freezer for an hour)
For topping:
1/8 cup sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°.

Beat shortening, white sugar, and brown sugar. Add egg and almond extract and beat until combined. Slowly mix in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix until everything is combined.

Fold in the chopped frozen blueberries.

Roll dough into 2 teaspoon sized balls. line up on a cookie sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes. Halfway through cooking, take the cookies out of the oven and dust the top of each cookie with your sugar mixture. Continue cooking until they are tan/brown around the edge of the cookies.

Let me know in the comments how your cookies turned out!:)

3 thoughts on “Mert’s Blueberry Almond Cookies

  1. Amy

    I just finished making these cookies! Yum! I loved the blueberries in a cookie– never had that before! I made the cookies a bit larger– not really on purpose 🙂 So I made about 20. I LOVED the lemon on top and might even add lemon zest next to to the batter. Thanks Mert for a great recipe!

    Reply

Leave a comment